Time Series: Lesson 2

Welcome again!

In the next lesson (lesson 3), we’ll actually play around with some data. With luck, we’ll apply a few of the things introduced in these first two lessons.

Please feel free to comment (in the comment section of this blog). Introduce yourself. Say what you like, what you don’t like, etc. (but keep it on topic). Discuss with your fellow time-series travellers. Enjoy!


And, watch the videos.


This course is brought to you free of charge, but we do need donations to keep it alive. You can join the many others whose generous support has made it possible with a donation at Peaseblossom’s Closet.

5 thoughts on “Time Series: Lesson 2

  1. Lesson is quite advanced for me.
    Comment: Strictly media tech: get a lavaliere microphone – or use a sound booth or acoustic padding (blankets) to minimize the slight echo chamber effect.. Optimized audio clarity improves the opportunity for full understanding … audio is almost more important than video. – ie, the best video with bad audio is a full failure, But any visuals with superb audio can still work . Your audio is pretty good, but since I am learning, I prefer better audio clarity.

    That said, you have a good teaching voice. I like your familiar, easy-going pace and tone.

    [Response: Thanks for the feedback — I’m still learning how to do this thing, and all help is appreciated.

    I’m especially interested in whether others think it’s quite advanced for them. If I should take it down a notch, take things more basically, I want to know.]

    Like

  2. Tamino,

    Some feeback, I have watched the two lessons. I think they are done very well. Your presentation style is very well suited to this type of format. Richard’s reccommendations are good and he is correct that “best video with bad audio is a full failure”. Also I concur with his comments regarding your teaching voice. Personally I find nothing in the audio that distracts from the learning. It is very listenable over long stretches, multiple repeats etc.

    As far as the content goes if when you say you want to know if you should take it down a notch you mean slow the pace slightly, then that might be OK but not an absolute requirement. But I would not strain to simplify the content any more than you may have done thus far. It is by nature an advanced subject with a good number of difficult concepts. You provide a significant level of detail which is extremely helpful in learning these concepts but in a course like this the student cannot expect to rely solely on the videos. I believe research outside the videos is always required to complete the learning experience. That is just the type of subject it is, it demands much in terms of background and effort.

    The only problem I have thus far is entering the steps to the solutions of the problems or in discussions pertaining to them in the comments. I am pretty good with the MS Word Equaton editor but I don’t think that can be used on the WordPress platform. Latex is very time consuming at the moment since I just started learning it the other day. Do you have any suggestions on this? Also I am sure we will need to imbed plots and the like so I guess we can just do that with the html,here is that true?

    Lastly I would say that a syllabus might be helpful at some point so that the class knows the tiopics and durtion of the course.

    I realize developing a course like this takes a great deal of work and I appreciate very much the effort you put forth to provide it to us.

    [Response: Thanks very much for the feedback.

    For entering equations, you could try just typing them in plain old ASCII, and using the latin alphabet only. As long as people know what you’re talking about, use the notation that works for you. I find LaTeX easy, but not everybody does. Another option is for you to do it with the Microsoft equ. editor, then take a screen capture and simply link to the image.

    For embedding graphs, yes html should be fine. You’ll need to link to the graphic somewhere online (your facebook or other social media page, e.g.).

    You’re quite right this is an advanced topic, so I appreciate your comments. For the next lesson (on Thursday) I’m trying to mix comment with a little more graphics/illustration — I hope that’ll help bring it to life. It’s always a difficult balance between too fast/too slow, and my instinct is probably to go too far too fast. It’s comments like yours that help me know which side of the line I’m leaning toward. Keep ’em comin’.

    You’re very right about a syllabus, too — but I wasn’t sure how far we’d be able to go (since it depends on the level of those who are learning). I’ll work on that.]

    Like

  3. Thanks Tamino, this is a great stats review for me. I just got back from sea and haven’t had time to go through the problems but there’s a lot here that I can apply directly to my research.

    Like

  4. This course is exactly what I was looking for so far: time series for someone already familiar with stats. My vote would be for you to continue at this level and pace. For review, I wouldn’t mind having the slides available to flip through after the lectures, instead of trying to search through the videos.

    Apart from your “Analyzing Light Curves,” would you recommend any time-series textbooks? There are a few nice-looking R-centric ones out there (which appeal to me because I spend a lot of time in R, and I like readily reproducible examples).

    [Response: You could try “Time Series Analysis and its Applications with R Examples” by Shumway & Stoffer.]

    Like

  5. The level and pace of the videos is very fine for me. Very fine tecnical quality and very clear explanations. It takes concentration and eventually repeat of arguments, but I am learning a lot.
    If anything a few more examples would be fine. And when you have just pointed to a little algebra, sometimes the slide shifts immediately after. It takes pausing the video and going back to follow.
    My husband started following the course too, so we are discussing time series at home and having fun.
    Thank you a lot for the course.

    Like

Leave a Reply

